Originally hand stencilled from floor to ceiling and filled with paintings and sculptures, the Morning Room was used by Annie and Merton for breakfast, relaxation and to receive guests during the first part of the day. The adjoining sculpture terrace was used as a sun room and provided direct access to their private garden. All the fireplaces in East Cliff Hall were bespoke creations by Bournemouth based master craftsman, William Mabey (1848-1931). This fireplace is set with custom-made tiles featuring heraldic elements adopted by Merton to give a sense of tradition. The tiles are made by local manufacturer Carter Tiles of Hamworthy, later known as Poole Pottery. Portions of the original ceiling came down as early as 1928. However, the blast wave from a German parachute mine on 7 October 1941 finished it off and brought the entire ceiling down. A competition was held in 1948 to design a replacement. The successful artist was Anna Zinkeisen (1901-1976) who was commissioned to paint a scene from ancient Greek mythology depicting gods and goddesses on Mount Olympus. Today, this room showcases highlights of the museum’s 20th century works. In the spirit of the museum’s founders, we continue to collect works of art and many of these later additions have become true stars of the collection.